Posted in Prayers and/or Scriptures

December 2, 2011 Journal Entry and Scriptures

Psalm 20:10-12 Therefore, you kings, be wise; be warned, you rulers of the earth. Serve the Lord with fear and rejoice with trembling. Kiss the Son, lest He be angry and you be destroyed in your way, for His wrath can flare up in a moment. Blessed are all who take refuge in Him.

Psalm 31:19-20 How great is Your goodness, which You have stored up for those who fear You, which You bestow in the sight of men on those who take refuge in You. In the shelter of Your presence You hide them from the intrigues of men; in Your dwelling You keep them safe from accusing tongues.

Psalm 32:1-2 Blessed is he whose transgressions are forgive, whose sins are covered. Blessed is the man whose sin the Lord does not count against him and in whose spirit is no deceit.

“And in whose spirit is no deceit” – I believe this part of the verse is here because sometimes we know that we are wrong or not doing the right things, but we try to go on as though we are somehow hiding this from God. In the past, I have tried to avoid God in certain areas of my life, or tried to somehow cover up, keep hidden, or pretend that my problem areas weren’t there. Now, I pray over everything openly with God – how can I hide anything from God!? That is ridiculous, really. We are being deceitful in our spirit when we try to act as though we don’t need God’s help in certain areas. We are being deceitful in our spirit when we don’t confess our sins and shine God’s light on them and allow Him to completely change us and renew us for His glory.

Psalm 32:5 Then I acknowledged my sin to You and did not cover up my iniquity. I said, “I will confess my transgressions to the Lord” and You forgave the guilt of my sin.

We can either try, unsuccessfully, to cover and hide our sin in darkness and continue toward destruction and death – or we can open up with God, share our problems and weaknesses with Him, ask Him for His loving help and forgiveness, and allow Him to cover our sins with the blood of Jesus to the forgiveness of our sins and the regeneration of our hearts, our minds, and our souls. Praise be to God! I choose to open myself completely to You, Lord, to bring all of me to You, to confess all of my sins and needs to You and to allow You to mold me and use me for Your glory!

Psalm 32:6-7 Therefore let everyone who is godly pray to You while You may be found; surely when the mighty waters rise, they will not reach him. You are my hiding place; You will protect me from trouble and surround me with songs of deliverance.

Psalm 32:8-10 (God says!) I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will counsel you and watch over you. Do not be like the horse or the mule, which have no understanding but must be controlled by bit and bridle or they will not come to you. Many are the woes of the wicked, but the Lord’s unfailing love surrounds the man who trusts in Him.

Psalm 62:5-8 Find rest, O my soul, in God alone; my hope comes from Him. He alone is my Rock and my salvation; He is my fortress, I will not be shaken. My salvation and my honor depend on God; He is my mighty Rock, my refuge. Trust in Him at all times, O people; pour out your hearts to Him, for God is our refuge.

Psalm 62:11-12 One thing God has spoken, two things have I heard: that You, O God, are strong and that You, O Lord, are loving. Surely You will reward each person according to what he has done.

Psalm 92:12-15 The righteous will flourish like a palm tree, they will grow like a cedar of Lebanon; planted in the house of the Lord, they will flourish in the courts of our God. They will still bear fruit in old age, they will stay fresh and green, proclaiming, “The Lord is upright; He is my Rock, and there is no wickedness in Him.”

Author:

This blog is for anyone who wants to know more about Jesus and His love and how faith in Him plays out in real life application. Hello, we are Jerry and Angela and we are two fools for Christ. We have decided to make our lives totally surrendered to Jesus in response to His love and His gift of salvation. We are in our early 40′s and we have two children together and [Angela has] an older daughter that is now an adult. We have been married to each other for going on ten years. We surrendered our lives to the Lord together in 2010 and have been growing in that relationship with Him and each other since that time. We both accepted salvation and made professions of faith earlier in our lives, but did not make Him Lord and Savior until 2010. At that time we realized that trying to walk in our own strength and our own ways was useless and empty and had led us to another rock bottom experience. We humbly turned our lives over to Jesus and have been seeking Him with all that we are ever since. That does not mean that we have become perfect. That does not mean that we have not sinned again. That does not mean that we have not had trouble or trials or storms since that time. What this means is that we are growing, we are learning, we are becoming more loving and compassionate and forgiving. We want to share our faith with our readers. We want to share our growth process and transformation with you. We wish to encourage you and lift you.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.